About Sumner County

Sumner County, Tennessee is rich in history, beauty and musical heritage. The county was created in 1786 and is named for General Jethro Sumner, a Brigadier General in the Continental Army during the American Revolutionary War. Sumner County was an important part of westward expansion and the development of Tennessee. Pioneers settled here because the land was rich in game, fresh water, and rolling hills. Come experience their journey from frontier to plantation. 

Just 25 miles northeast of Nashville, on the Kentucky border. Use I-40E, I-65N, or State Hwy. 109 to get here.

Cities in Sumner County

Airports

Car Rentals

Terms and Policies

Retire in Sumner County

retire_tn_logo.png
For information on retiring in Sumner County, please visit Forward Sumner

About Sumner CVB

The Sumner County Convention and Visitors Bureau, or Sumner County Tourism, was originally created by the United Chambers of Commerce of Sumner County in the late 1980s as a joint effort to market tourism. It was reorganized in 2004 as a 501(c)6 destination marketing agency overseen by a board of directors. The CVB is not a membership organization, but is funded through the 5% Sumner County Occupancy Tax. Its mission is to market Sumner County as a year-round destination for leisure, business, group and individual travel. The office is located in the former "Comer House" at 2310 Nashville Pike in Gallatin. Our office hours are 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday.

The six chambers that make up the United Chambers are:

Our Staff

Barry Young, Executive Director
barry@visitsumnertn.com

Kelly Dickey, Executive Assistant
kelly@visitsumnertn.com

Tracy Sayles, Sales & Marketing Manager
tracy@visitsumnertn.com

Taryn Hill, Operations Manager
taryn@visitsumnertn.com

Heidi Stockford, Tourism Specialist
heidi@visitsumnertn.com

Kay Whitley, Office Coordinator    kay@visitsumnertn.com